What Are Idaho State Requirements for Auto Insurance?

If you own a car and live in Idaho Falls, ID, you are legally required to insure your vehicle. Idaho has clear requirements, and if you drive a car without meeting them, you could be subject to hefty fines.

We here at Insure It All want to help, so here’s a quick breakdown of the state rules for auto insurance.


If you are responsible for property damage via your motor vehicle, you will likely be held liable to pay for those damages. As these kinds of injuries can quickly run in the 10s of thousands of dollars, the state of Idaho requires a minimum amount of property damage liability coverage.

According to the state, the minimum you can have in your policy is $15,000 for property damage coverage. That is, your insurance policy will require the insurance company to cover up to this amount of damage.

Personal Injury

If someone is hurt via your motor vehicle, then a different kind of liability coverage comes into play. This coverage can help with medical bills, lost income, and other financial hardships related to your accident.

The minimums for Idaho Falls, ID, are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Keep in mind a couple of things about these minima. First, they don’t directly protect you or your vehicle at all. These liability requirements only cover people and property you might harm or damage.

Second, these limits determine how much your insurance provider must pay according to your policy. It’s entirely possible that you could be held liable for money beyond this coverage. In that case, you’re on your own.

Because of that, many people opt for more comprehensive insurance policies that protect themselves, their vehicles, and their liability risks beyond minimum state requirements. If you want to explore all of your options, talk to your Insure It All representative.